Avocado Shake

In spirit of St. Patrick’s Day, I’ve made something green for you.

I have been interested in the wonders of avocados. Obviously they are great on bean burgers and salads and sandwiches and just straight out of the skin with a spoon, but there are so many other neat things you can do with avocados like chocolate pudding and frosting and milkshakes and chocolate cake. I mean, how cool are these things? Avocados are so versatile!

I’m still on Lent, which means no sweets for me. However, this “milkshake” is really just a creamy smoothie. Because smoothies are healthy. And not considered desserts.

You also might notice that today is not St. Patrick’s Day. Aaaaand I have news. I’m going out of town for a week – BEACH – for Spring Break where I plan on reading nutrition books for fun, bathing in the sun, and hopefully drinking a bunch of mojitos. In a classy way, of course. Just one a day at cocktail hour. So, I will see you next weekend! And I promise to be much less stressed and cranky. And hopefully a little tanner.

Avocado Shake
From Affairs of Living

1/2 avocado
1/2 c spinach
1/2 c soymilk
3/4 c ice
Splash of peppermint extract
Sugar (optional, I didn’t, but I think it’d be better with a bit. Or honey)

Blend all.

Leave a comment