Sweet and Spicy Roasted Butternut Squash

I have decided something.

sweet and spicy butternut squash 2

My mom used to comment about people looking like “Nanook of the North” when it really wasn’t that cold outside. They would be wearing massive jackets and gloves and scarves wrapped tight when it was 35°F, not 1°F.

I’ve decided that in North Carolina, you take what you can get. We don’t ever get snow (and if we do, it’s a flurry that doesn’t stick or get you out of school..) so we have to make do with what we have, which means if you have a favorite winter coat, you’re gonna have to pull it out when it’s above freezing.

sweet and spicy butternut squash

A couple nights ago I made a “late” night (6pm – my bedtime is pretty early these days. I’m officially an old woman) trip to the grocery store and wore my big-girl-big-snow jacket. It’s actually not a snow jacket. It’s more of a … fashionable winter jacket. It’s fuzzy on the inside and has a massive hood. I’ve had it for years and only worn it a handful of times because I didn’t understand this concept until right now.

sweet and spicy butternut squash 3

I also wore this jacket yesterday. It was about 22°F, so I decided it was definitely appropriate. I also wore my snow boots. That’s, sadly, probably the only time I will get to use them this year. But my toesies were warm! And my boyfriend got a kick out of it. It was a win all around.

sweet and spicy butternut squash 4

What I’m trying to say is: wear your jackets. Who CARES if you look ridiculous. I also saw some dude walking around in a short sleeve shirt yesterday. HE looks ridiculous. So wear it, own it, flaunt that massive winter coat. Do yo thang. And make some butternut squash, too. These spicy bad boys will definitely keep you warm.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Butternut Squash

1 bag of cubed butternut squash
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4-1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, depending on how spicy you want it

1. Set oven to 400°F.
2. In a bowl, toss together ingredients.
3. Spread squash onto greased baking pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, stirring halfway through.

4 thoughts on “Sweet and Spicy Roasted Butternut Squash

Leave a comment