Cheesy Enchilada Pasta

This is a man meal. I made this a couple weeks ago and the boyfriend actually asked for it AGAIN. Like, less than a week later, “Hey, babe? We should make that pasta dish again.”

enchilada pasta 1

This is a one-dish meal. I didn’t realize how amazing those are until now. I think I got a peek into my future as a mom when there are two children running around and I’ve worked all day and the last thing I want to do is clean a million pots and pans. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

enchilada pasta 3

I added some arugula because 1) arugula has a massive amount of fabulous flavor and 2) the future-RD in me insists on having something green and some vegetables. Onions and black olives just weren’t cutting it. I also added corn. I was going to add black beans BUT I didn’t have time to soak the dry black beans and didn’t want to pay the extra $0.68 for a can since I already had dried once at the apartment. I know, I’m so cheap.

enchilada pasta 4

This is delicious, though. And I am just brainstorming the million ways to change it. Add black beans. Add avocado on top when you serve it. Add sour cream on top. Add cilantro. YUM. I can’t decide if it’s more of a pasta or a soup.. because it gets pretty soupy. But that’s okay. Flavor doesn’t judge.

[Side note: after letting this refrigerate, it sops up for the extra liquid. Totally pasta, not soup!]

Cheesy Enchilada Pasta
Adapted from Number 2 Pencil

1 tbsp olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 red onion, diced
1/2 c frozen corn
2 c vegetable broth
1 19oz can mild enchilada sauce
1 packet taco seasoning
2 1/2 c whole wheat rotini pasta
1 1/2 c Mexican cheese + more for sprinkling
1/2 c chopped olives
1 c arugula-spinach mix

1. Saute garlic and onion in olive oil over medium-low heat in a large sauce pan.
2. After the onion and garlic is flavorful and slightly wilted, add in the broth, enchilada sauce, pasta, corn, and seasonings. Bring to a boil, then cover and simmer for 15 minutes.
3. After 15 minutes, take the lid off and simmer for an additional 5 minutes.
4. Add the cheese, olives, and greens. Stir to combine. Top with additional cheese.

4 thoughts on “Cheesy Enchilada Pasta

    • skinnymuffin109 says:

      It’s actually just an enchilada sauce I bought! It’s canned from the store. Would be interesting to try and make it, though.. And yes, I love the different shapes. I have several options but I wish there were even more!

      On Tue, Feb 18, 2014 at 9:18 AM, Skinny Muff

  1. erika says:

    Omg this sounds so yummmm. I want this. That feeling when your man asks for a repeat of something you made = BEST FEELING.

    Also, I have a question for you, my only nutritionist friend!! How can I find out if spent grain (the by-product of brewing beer) has nutritional value and if so, how much? I’ve been googling it but I’ve come across so many conflicting answers (some say it’s nutritionally devoid, some say there’s protein + fiber + vitamins left in it), but there don’t seem to be an academically sound sources…do you have a way to find out in nutrition school?!

Leave a comment