Gingerbread Waffles with Maple Butter

I know.

gingerbread waffles 1

I know what you’re thinking. Seriously, Kaylie? Gingerbread in March? Well, first of all, it does NOT feel like March. It feels somewhere between the end of April (for a half a second) and the middle of January (for too many days in a row). And now it’s all windy – basically, the weather can’t make up its mind and it’s kind of annoying.

gingerbread waffles 2

Actually, my friend picked this out. Every month, my friends and I have a ‘girls night.’ And the other night went from standing in the kitchen having a couple margs and talking about life to us all squished into the couch next to each other getting head scratches. It was a success, to say the least.

gingerbread waffles 4

Then, the next morning, I handed my friend a waffle cookbook and she picked out this one. “Fall is my favorite time of year,” was her response. I guess that’s valid. And I took one look at that maple butter and was on board.

gingerbread waffles 3

I’m not sure why I’ve never made my own butter concoctions. The only time I use butter is for baking and maybe the occasional quesadilla (butter > Pam for quesadillas, in case you were wondering). I never stick it on pancakes or waffles, or spread it onto bread unless I’m treating myself at a restaurant. But that is about to change folks. Butter is the new black.

gingerbread waffles 5

She whipped up the maple syrup + butter magic while I sleepily combined the waffle ingredients. This was my first time using the waffle maker – my boyfriend has made the waffles every other time we’ve had them – and I was terrified it was going to open while I was flipping it or something. But. It didn’t. And it was a delicious success, and I am officially naming butter as ingredient of the year.

Gingerbread Waffles with Maple Butter
Recipe from Waffles: Sweet and SavoryRecipes for Every Meal

Maple Butter:
3 tbsp butter, slightly softened
3/4 tbsp maple syrup
Pinch of cinnamon

Waffles:
3/4 c plain almond milk
1 egg
1/4 c butter, melted
1 tbsp molasses
1/2 tsp vanilla
3/4 c white whole wheat flour
1 1/2 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tbsp baking powder
Pinch of salt
1 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
Pinch of gloves

1. Whisk together butter, maple syrup, and cinnamon. Refrigerate until waffles are ready.
2. In a small bowl, combine egg, milk, melted butter (wait until it’s cool!), molasses, and vanilla. Whisk together.
3. In a medium bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, and salt. Create a well in the bowl, then add in the milk mixture. Stir until mostly smooth with just a few lumps.
4. Pour batter into waffle maker. Depending on your waffle maker, it should make 1 1/2 – 2 waffles.
5. Top with maple butter. Nom.

4 thoughts on “Gingerbread Waffles with Maple Butter

  1. erika says:

    ^ Lol at the weather comment! So true. Okay, now I feel better busting my pumpkin puree out the fridge. That might be happening. Also….MAJOR WAFFLE LOVE. These sound like the best post-girls night brunch EVERRR.

    • skinnymuffin109 says:

      Girl, seriously! Waffles are the bomb. We are totally twins – there is nothing wrong with a little pumpkin or gingerbread in March/April haha! At least yours is nutritious. Mine… taste is all it’s got going for it because butter and brown sugar is low in nutrition but high in taste.

      On Mon, Mar 31, 2014 at 4:37 PM, Skinny Muff

Leave a comment