Asian Cabbage Wraps

DAY FOUR LET’S GO.

cabbage wrap 2

Feeling good. Feeling real good. I was actually a little worried about these cabbage wraps because 1) I’ve never had cabbage 2) I ate them RAW (and later realized you are supposed to boil or steam them, so I changed the cooking directions accordingly) but on a positive note, I got about 6 cabbage leaves for $0.19! Way cheaper than bread, definitely gluten-free (and paleo, I would assume?), and full of tons of nutrients. And vegan, not to mention. But the word usually scares people away. [The hard-boiled egg not pictured but also eaten with the meal – def not vegan. Don’t worry, peeps. Still getting my nutrients.]

cabbage wraps 1

I noted below the recipe directions, but you can add so many things to this! I whipped this together really fast because I was hungry and lazy, but the combinations are essentially endless. You can also fold the leaves and make these into little rolls, almost like spring rolls.

cabbage wrap 3

I love love love lettuce wraps at places like PF Chang’s and am super excited to try millions of combinations (strawberry salsa on blueberry and quinoa cabbage/lettuce wraps? caprese? egg salad?!).

cabbage wrap 4

Asian Cabbage Wraps

1/4 c cooked brown rice
6-8 large black olives, chopped
1 mini bell pepper, chopped
1/2 small tomato, chopped
1 tbsp lemon juice
2 tsp soy sauce
Pinch of ginger
Pinch of garlic pepper
1 tsp olive oil
1 large green cabbage leaf

1. Boil cabbage leaf for a couple minutes, until slightly softened.
2. Cut out the stem by making a V in the leaf.
3. Combine the remaining ingredients in a bowl.
4. With a slotted spoon, scoop out the brown rice mixture and spoon into the cabbage wrap.

Note: You can add lots of veggies to this! I was hungry and lazy and wanted to go ahead and eat, but carrots would be a great addition, and for non-FODMAP diet followers, edamame or diced onion would be yummy!

One thought on “Asian Cabbage Wraps

Leave a comment