Black Bean and Sweet Potato Tortilla Casserole

Things are happening. Big things.

OSG Mexican Tortilla 1

I am officially in love with my new camera. Like, seriously in love. I have no idea how to use it – probably won’t until this summer – but it’s fun. The pictures are crystal clear and the little manual zoom lens, obsessed.

OSG Mexican Tortilla 3

Also in love with spin class. Back in high school, I went to spin class all the time {2-3 times a week}, sometimes even at 5:30am. Talk about dedication. And Friday I got really randomly motivated to workout. With Tone It Up, we count mileage, and I realized I was running a little behind, so I spontaneously decided to go to RPM Express at 6pm on Friday night. I also convinced my friend to come, and I think we are going to make it a tradition! It was the best spin class I’ve gone to in a while.

OSG Mexican Tortilla 5

And I’m cooking. If you’ve followed my blog for longer than a few months, you know that I used to blog. A lot. Like four, five, six times a week. I really don’t know where I found the time. BUT I have started back. And I am hoping to keep it up. Also, I am bringing Dietetic Dish back. Yay!

OSG Mexican Tortilla 2

PS: I REALLY need to stop posting her recipes but THEY’RE SO GOOD. Next recipe will be more original, okay? Cool.

OSG Mexican Tortilla 4

Black Bean & Sweet Potato Tortilla Casserole
Adapted slightly from Oh She Glows

1 sweet potato, scrubbed, peeled, and cubed
1 onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp olive oil
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 bell pepper, chopped
1 can enchilada sauce
1 c lettuce or spinach
8 small corn tortillas
1/4 c cheddar cheese
Cilantro for garnish

1. Place sweet potato cubes in a pot with just enough water to cover the sweet potato. Bring to a boil, then boil 7-8 minutes.
2. Saute onion and garlic until translucent over medium heat, about 8-10 minutes. Add the bell pepper, black beans, lettuce, and 1/4 c enchilada sauce. Cook until lettuce has wilted slightly and bell peppers are softened. Add the sweet potatoes.
3. Spoon a little of the enchilada sauce on the bottom of the an 8×10 pan. Lay 4 of the tortillas on the bottom of the pan, then top with half of the black bean mixture.
4. Add the other 4 tortillas, then top with the remainder of the black bean mixture, more enchilada sauce, and the cheese.
5. Bake at 350°F for 25 minutes. Top with cilantro when serving.

Leave a comment