Spinach Portobello Lasagna Rollups with Cauliflower Sauce

Hey there. I’ve fallen off the blog wagon – again – but hopefully I’ll be back.

portobello alfredo lasagna 1

Let’s talk about my life. Well, I am quitting my current job and starting a new job. In my current job, I don’t know how to do registers because only one person has taken the initiative to teach me and I haven’t worked with him…

Until today. So he throws me on there all “You got this” and I’m like “Uh.. no I don’t.” BUT I survived. UNTIL I had to go to the post office. And for real.. It’s 4:37pm and everyone and their mom is at the post office, I guess to mail things and get stamps before they close at 5pm. Mad house. And don’t even get me started on trying to get out of the parking lot…

portobello alfredo lasagna 2

Ironically, Sam’s Club wasn’t packed at all. Go figure.

Anyway, this was my first attempt at cauliflower “alfredo” sauce and I am addicted. It’s delicious. I actually hate cauliflower – and the smell, yuckk – but this sauce is totally a mind-trick. I love those. Your body THINKS it’s eating alfredo sauce and you’re brain is like “HA-HA, you fool. This is healthy for you.”

portobello alfredo lasagna 3

Speaking of healthy, did you know it’s better to get kids to try vegetables over and over and over (8-17 times!) until [hopefully one day] they like them vs. ‘hiding’ the vegetables in macaroni and cheese or sauces like this? Dietetic tip. You’re welcome.

Spinach Portobello Lasagna Rollups with Cauliflower Sauce
Adapted slightly from Kim’s Health Eats

8 lasagna noodles
1 head cauliflower, chopped
3 portobello mushrooms, chopped
1 tbsp olive oil
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 tsp dried basil
Pinch of garlic pepper
2 c spinach
1 c shredded mozzarella
1/2 c milk
1/4 c Italian breadcrumbs

1. Cook noodles according to directions.
2. Boil cauliflower for 10 minutes, then blend until smooth in a blender. In order to blend into a sauce, add 1/4+ c water.
3. Saute garlic and portobello in oil over medium heat until softened and cooked through. Add spinach and sauté for a few minutes until slightly wilted.
4. Lay pasta on parchment paper or paper towel and equally divide the spinach and portobello over the noodles. Sprinkle 1/4 c cheese on noodles, then roll and place in an oven-safe dish.
5. For the cauliflower sauce, place over medium heat, stir in milk and 1/2 c cheese until cheese is melted. Pour sauce over noodles, then sprinkle remaining 1/4 c cheese and breadcrumbs on top of noodles and bake for 30min at 350°F.

2 thoughts on “Spinach Portobello Lasagna Rollups with Cauliflower Sauce

  1. erika says:

    Oh man I want some o’ these. I made Pinch of Yum’s alfredo lasagna and it was to.die.for. The wonders of cauliflower! Also where you working? Do you like your new job? That sounds like one heck of a crazy day you had! On another note, I kind of want to learn how to work a cash register.

Leave a comment