Whole Wheat Clementine Muffins

What do you do when you have a lot of free time? Hang out with your friends. And go on adventures.

Last night, I was in for a serious adventure. One more adventurous and challenging than I was expecting. Two words: Real. Yoga.

Now, that may sound silly, right? What do I mean by “real yoga?” I mean, not that stuff they do at the Y or at the Campus Rec at my school or what you see on DVDs. No.

This yoga entails sweat dripping off your nose and your hands slipping off your mat and your legs screaming in pain and your elbows shaking uncontrollably. But in the best.way.ever. I was smitten. Totally in love. The instructor actually walked around and briefly massaged my lower back. Uh. Yess.

What do you do when you have a lot of clementines? I mean, a bazillion clementines. That whole “eyes bigger than your stomach” thing? Yeah. I had that when I bought this gigantic bag of clementines. I ate about 8 over the course of a week or so and then had no idea what to do with the other 15.

Hence. Muffins.


Whole Wheat Clementine Muffins
Adapted from Martha Stewart

1 1/2 c chopped clementines (approximately 6)
1/8 c sugar
1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
1/2 c whole-wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 c buttermilk
1/4 c vegetable oil
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Line muffin tin with 12 liners.
2. Mix clementines with sugar and mash with fork.
3. Mix flours, baking powder and soda, salt and cinnamon with a whisk in a large bowl.
4. Combine buttermilk, oil, egg and vanilla with a whisk.
5. Pour liquid into flour mixture and add clementines. Fold to combine.
6. Evenly distribute batter into muffin tins.
7. Bake for 14-15 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

Leave a comment